How do I erase or sanitize the memory on my MXG?
Removing Data from Memory (Option 006 Only)
When moving the signal generator from a secure development environment, there are several security functions you can use to remove classified proprietary information from the instrument. Security functions also have equivalent SCPI commands for remote operation (“System Subsystem (:SYSTem)” commands; refer to the SCPI Command Reference).
Erase and Overwrite All
This performs the same actions as Erase All, plus it clears and overwrites the various memory types in accordance with Department of Defense (DoD) standards, as follows:
Overwrites all addressable location with random characterers.
Overwrites all addressable locations with random characters and then erases the flash blocks. This accomplises the same purpaose as a chip erase, but only the areas no longer in use are erased, and the factory calibration files are left intact.
Overwrites all addressable locations with random characters.
To start, press File > More > Security > Erase and Overwrite All > Confirm Erase.
Erase and Sanitize All
This performs the same actions as Erase and Overwrite All and then adds more overwriting actions. After executing this function, you must manually perform the additional steps describe below for the sanitization to comply with Department of Defense (DoD) standards.
After you apply this functions, the instrument must remain in the secure area for a period longer than the classified data resided in memory. Alternatively, you can remove the SRAM battery and then manually reinsert it, but this requires opening the instrument.
Overwrites all addressable locations with a single character. You must then power off the instrument to purge the memory contents.
To start, press File > More > Security > Erase and Sanitize All > Confirm Sanitize.
Secure mode automatically applies the selected Security Level action the next time the instrument's power cycles.
To set the security level, press File > More > Security > Security Level and choose from the following:
- None = factory preset, no user information is lost
- Erase = Erase All
- Overwrite = Erase and Overwrite All
- Sanitize = Erase and Sanitize All
Enroll in myAgilent
A personalized view into the information most relevant to you.
Register Your Product
Register your products for service notifications, firmware update alerts, application notes and more…
Why Buy Agilent
See how the Agilent Advantage adds value to your purchase.
Learn about Keysight
Agilent’s Electronic Measurement Group is becoming Keysight Technologies.